Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge and share our gratitude to the First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples of Canada; caregivers of the land and keepers of its stories for thousands of years. Blue Mountain is located within the boundary of Treaty 18 region of 1818 which is the traditional territory of the Anishnaabek, Haudenosaunee and Wendat-Wyandot-Wyandotte peoples.

Over 500 years ago, the First Nations welcomed us to share this land now called Ontario. We are grateful to explore and play on Blue Mountain and thank all those who were and are caretakers of this beautiful area. We are also mindful of the broken covenants and the need to reconcile with all our allies and relations.

Let us listen, discover, and care for this land by learning from our mutual history. As benefactors of thousands of years of Indigenous stewardship, we are privileged to share the beauty of Blue Mountain and are responsible for ensuring its sustainability for generations to come.

This acknowledgment was written with an understanding that we are still learning. Thank you for your support, patience and willingness to learn and grow with us.